Uh-oh

I was cruising through some of the art blogs I like. At the blog a : frustrated : artist I came across a link to a quiz that tells you (tongue in cheek) what type of artist you are.

Apparently, I am Vincent Van Gogh or his reasonable facsimile. Err before the ear thing. Actually Van Gogh is not a bad artist to be.

When I was younger I really didn’t care much for his work. But, in the 80’s I got a chance to visit his museum in Amsterdam. It was a revelation to me.

I’d never seen a Van Gogh up close before and I hated how his work looked in reproductions and photographs. I fell in love with his work on the spot and he’s the reason I started wanting to learn oil painting (I had always sketched and I was painting with watercolors at the time). Hs Iris and sunflower paintings were gorgeous.  I remember seeing a painting of a field that was golden. Not sure if it was Wheat Field with Crows.

I’d like to go back and see Amsterdam and see the works I looked at before.  Since I can paint (somewhat) it would be interesting to see how much my reaction to his work has changed.  I remember liking (but not loving) the painting De Nachtwacht at the Rijks Museum.  I also remember loving this smaller painting that showed a man laying down (or dead) from the perspective that your eyes were near his feet.  I can’t remember the name of the painter or the artist though; the colors were jewel tones like you found in the Renaissance paintings.

Simon Schama did a series for PBS called Power of Art that opens with Van Gogh’s Wheat Field with Crows.

So here are my results. It does make me a little sad I didn’t score closer to Artemisia Gentilleschi. Hopefully, if you live in the Metro DC area you were able to see some of her work on display at the show Italian Women Artists from the Renaissance to Baroque which ran from March 16th – July 15th a the National Women’s Museum of Women in the Arts. The show was phenomenal and very wide-ranging!

  You scored as Vincent Van Gogh, You are a tortured artist in the stereotypical sense. However, your genius is what will get you through the tough times and your success is assured after your demise.

Vincent Van Gogh
 
75%
Cecily Brown
 
60%
Piet Mondrian
 
55%
William Blake
 
50%
Willem DeKooning
 
45%
Bob Ross
 
45%
R. Crumb
 
40%
Artemisia Gentilleschi
 
10%

What artist are you?
created with QuizFarm.com</a

4 responses to “Uh-oh

  1. Van Gogh, I didn’t give him to much attention too… maybe I need to see his paintings face to face as happened to you!

  2. Yes, if you can go please try to see him. His work work – in person-is so amazing, the texture of his brushwork, his color choice, and the thickness of the paint he used were so expressive.
    If you use the wikipedia link, Schama’s narrative is linked when you click on the Van Gogh section.

    Oh btw (forgive the spelling errors)
    Ni hao ma?
    Wu shi xuexi Han yu zai (nar la?) Montana Da Xue!

  3. 我恨好谢谢!
    你真的认识汉语吗?

  4. It’s been so long, and we studied the simplified pin yin versions.
    Sorry.
    I don’t really speak mandarian, I just took one year of it in school years ago-i’ve forgotten it all.

Leave a Reply

