Clouds

I feel guilty for not posting anything but I didn’t attend Ted Reed’s Painting class today.

I was flying in from North Carolina into Baltimore, Maryland. So I thought I’d post this picture I took.

Clouds

I don’t remember the clouds having these deep violet colors when I took the picture. I haven’t been adulterated or changed. These are straight off my camera. Aren’t the colors beautiful?

I love clouds. One of the things I miss the most about New Mexico is the thunderheads in the summer monsoon season. You’d watch all day as these billowing masses of clouds built up all day long and then would release their precious rain around 4pm. It was wondrous.

I remember reading years ago that they were looking for the perfect thunderstorm to use for a recording of Ferde Grofé’s Grand Canyon Suite. They recorded it in New Mexico so that should give you an idea of the wonderful storms that took place there. I have that CD somewhere and it’s plastered with warnings about the probability of blowing out your speakers if you have it turned up too loud.

I was afraid of storms as a child, but my Father told me the noise and lights were the results of the angels bowling. I was never really afraid of a storm again after that.

Hope you enjoyed the picture.

 

4 responses to “Clouds

  1. It’s very beautifull!

  2. Thank you Giacomo. I’d like to do something to sharpen the image but the colors are so beautiful I figured I’d best leave well enough alone.

  3. I love flying, clouds and capturing them in photos, too. These are exceptionally beautiful.
    I’ve had photos go different colours as well and wonder if it isn’t something to do with the window that you are taking them through. I got rainbows in some of mine that weren’t there, as far as the naked eye could see.
    K

  4. Hi Looking, those sound great. I like the picture in you avatar, is it a tree?
    I think it might be the camer, I took some pics in low-light of a foggy river bank and they have soem purple in them as well. You don’t see it at all in full light though so it’s werid but very pretty. Thanks for reading and commenting on the blog/pics.
    Cindy

Leave a Reply

