Playing World of Warcraft and other MMORPGs

I used to play World of Warcraft. A lot. If you don’t play WoW I’d skip through this since it probably won’t make much sense to you.

World of Warcraft (WoW) is a huge Massive Multiple Online Role Playing Game (MMORPG). It’s not unique. People play HALO, Everquest (affectionately known as evercrack), Vanguard, Warhammer et al.

Unfortunately playing WoW turned into something like a part time job for me. I initially started playing it to hang out on-line with my sister. Then I got my husband hooked. A fun way to spend time when my husband lived in one state and I lived somewhere else.

I started out as an officer in one guild, quit went to another server for a bit and then back to my old server, where my sister and two friends and myself started a second guild. Eventually I ended up running the guild.

 We were a mid-sized horde guild on a care-bear (non-player versus player)  server. We had a very good reputation as a guild full of fun laid back folks who weren’t too anal about the game and always tried to help people out.

What do you do if you’re running a guild? If you don’t play online video games that means I was coordinating instance runs with 40 slots two or three times (we weren’t a hard core raiding guild~htey’re usually at it 5 or 6 nights a week) a week in addition to what ever else needed run. We had the majority of members in the United States but we also had a few folks in Canada and the UK as well. If you are still confused picture a cowboy on a horse trying to herd 40 -70 cats and you get the idea.

Imagine the the trouble of simply getting 40 strangers (who were online friends-but strangers still~some more strange than others) with wide ranging skills and backgrounds (whom you’ve never meet in person) to agree on game playing strategies; add east coast vice west coast (not to mention our members in the UK) time zone differences  for instance runs that could take 4-5 hours. 

So, 2 hours daily on the website, several 4-5 hour instance runs a week and lots of in game administrivia as well.  You can imagine how much work it was. I paid for a vent server (which allows conversations using VoIP) for 50 folks and my sister paid for the domain name and server pace to host the guild’s site. It took me about 1 – 2 hours a day to keep up with managing the website (due to fricking spammers and blocking folks etc) along with having to mediate disputes, questions, complaints etc and recruiting new members while I was playing in game.

When I took a new job in Washington DC, I was so caught up in the move and starting my new job here, that I no longer had the time to play much. The guild went to someone else and everyone stayed or moved on the way that guilds tend to do.

Why talk about this? I stumbled on this great post written by a BS Angel who is a female gamer. She lists the top 10 pick up lines for HALO. Which I hate to admit are much funnier than the normal whispers (called pms or psts in WoW) , which were usually pretty lame. This is some funny stuff.

Then I followed a link and found this Female Gamers Have More Sex? A UK game rental company called Game Tart commissioned a study of 200 female gamers. It found that female gamers had sex 4.3 times a week vice 3.2 times per week for non-gamers. Wonder if that number increase exponentially if both parts of the couple are gamers?

One of the wives at the party last Saturday told me that WoW was ruining her marriage. Keep in mind she is very demure and pretty and she looks like butter wouldn’t melt in her mouth. When I asked her how, she looked me straight in the eye and tells me her husband was playing WoW and he “killed my f#@%ing flowers!” I blinked and thought huh? Then I burst out laughing. It was the incongruity of a demure southern belle using that sort of language that I thought was so funny.

Back to her, apparently she thought he’d watered the plants. He had not because he starts playing WoW as soon as he walks in the door. So they died. LOL. Apparently Mike needs to change his guild message of the day to DO CHORES or WATER PLANTS KKTHXBAI something like that.

Poor Mike. Poor dead flowers.

2 responses to “Playing World of Warcraft and other MMORPGs

  1. 2 hours per day… that’s really a job!

  2. I will keep that in mind.

    For now I am causal in the extreme for playstyle. There are simply too many balls in the air at the moment.

Leave a Reply

