Halloween Party (delayed posting)

The hosts! the Phantom and his love My friends, Deena and Joe, hosted a wonderful Halloween party at their beautiful townhouse in Old Town Alexandria. Here they are in their costumes, the Phantom of the Opera and his muse, Christine Daaé.

img_0944.jpg Besides nibbling on delicious snacks and drinking mulled cider, mulled wine or other libations, the point of the party was to attend in costume and then walk through Old Town Alexandria.  Here is a link to an article about the event from the Alexandria Times.  Apparently the city police close down South Lee Street and huge crowds promenade up and down the street in costumes, parents, children, pets–all dressed up and walking. Most of the homeowners on Lee Street stock about 1000 pieces of candy to accommodate the crowd.

img_0946.jpg Many of the people who attended the party know Joe and Deena through english country dancing lessons offered at Gadsby’s Tavern.  Quite a few folks who take these classes have historic costumes and they many were strolling on Lee Street in full panoply.  The lady in the lovely green gown was actually wearing a whalebone corset! Talk about historically accurate!

Now I was the other end of the extreme.  I went as an anime girl, but none of the party folks knew what anime was so I told them I was a naughty catholic schoolgirl-short plaid skirt, white kneehighs, chunky black shoes, white blouse and pigtails! I also added a chainsaw and a biker jacket.  Never let it be said I didn’t go all out or to excess.  I think someone snapped some picutres of me and one of the guest who came dressed as a priest!

     

Pantoof the fuzzy slipper

3 responses to “Halloween Party (delayed posting)

  1. I seen a thread on this webmaster forum today talking about Local RSS and was wondering if anyone know of any good site that have local feeds that I can use for my wordpress blog plugin wp-o-matic?

    I appreciate your help. I tried the common sense way by searching google and can’t seem to find anything with any value to it and mainly I want the top rss I can find, but really one site so far.

    Also, I don’t see an rss feed for this forum. Do you have a rss? If so I would like to subscribe! Your forum seems pretty cool so added ya’ to my favorites.

    🙂

    Thanks

  2. Guy .. Excellent .. Amazing .. I’ll bookmark your website and take the feeds alsoI am glad to search out a lot of useful information here within the post, we need develop more techniques on this regard, thank you for sharing. . . . . .

  3. You’re welcome.

Leave a Reply

