Springtime in DC

snowdrops.jpg

 Snowdrops have arrived

I took this near the Library of Congress, Washington, DC this morning. Springtime has arrived!

Tansu

I just received these pictures of the newest edition to my home.  A friend of mine, Vicki is one of the owners of a wonderful japanese antique store, Ishihama Antiques  in the Los Angeles area.

She found this Sendai Tansu for me on her last trip to Japan! The tansu and very similar to another one I purchased from her last year.  This one measures 36″wide x 35 1/2″ high and 16″ deep. 

I plan on seperating the two units and placing them side-by-side to form a longer console table.  I may keep it together as a stacked chest, but having the stand made and shipped gives me a few more options.  Vicki can have a stand with metal legs added to make it the height I want.  I’ve done this with a merchants chest I bought from her last year,  I wanted it to be high enough for a side table to a chair or couch. 

Sendai Tansu 1

Photo by Ishihama Antiques

Leave a Reply

