Smithsonian Craft Show

The Smithsonian Craft Show opens this weekend (April 10 – 13) at the Smithsonian Building Museum.  This will be the third show I am attending and I am psyched as usual.  I’d considered going to the preshow on Wednesday evening.  But the admission to the gala is $175 per person (I know but at least there is a free valet!).  I finally realized as much fun as that would be, I could spend it on thursday (and the profit goes to the event which is worthwile) or I could directly support the artist by buying their lovely things.  I decided buying art and fine crafts would be the better option for me.

Admission is $15 for adults, $12 for seniors/military/Smithsonian Associates and employees. 

The hours of the show are:

Thursday 10:00- 8:00PM

Friday – Saturday 10:00 – 6:00PM

Sunday  11:00-5:00PM

There is a small sandwich shop on the first floor that has some great food that is fairly cheap, they sell decent coffee too.

How to get there:

If you are on the Metro, take the RED LINE to Judicary Square.  The national Building Museum is located on 401 F Street NW, Washington, DC 20001 if you are driving there are parking garages nearby but I am a metro gal so check the show link for that information.

For those of you who are out of town and can not attend, you can still participate!  The Smithsonian Craft Show hosts and online auction as well!  The auction opened on 6 April and continues until 15 April.

 

 

3 responses to “Smithsonian Craft Show

  1. Hello Nearly Infinite Skater,
    I’m curious about your experience at the Show. As an artist, I am rolling around the idea of entering, but would love to hear some first-hand observations about it.
    Thanks!
    Charlie

  2. The show is almost always a very interesting mix of beautifully wrought fine crafts/art.
    Usually there are only a few funiture makes, quite a few people who make jewerly and ceramicists, wearable art folks (clothing/weavings) and usually someone very interesting with a twist.

    Probably my all time favorite one was several years ago when I drove to DC from Nort hCarolina for the show. They just seemed to be a larger/wider spectrum of crafts. I havent”been as happy last tyear or this year whith the artists who were there.

    I’d definitely enter but many of the locals prefer the Fair in Baltimore, which I haven’t attended yet. Friends of mine have told me it’s a lot more odwn to eath, has a broader range of fine crafts and the prices are better than what the Smithsonian price bracket seems to be at.

  3. Thanks for the input, Mongoose. I’ll investigate the show in Baltimore, particularly as the Gf’s family lives there.

Leave a Reply

