New Art in My Tiny Collection

Hello David by Leslie Holt

Hello David by Leslie Holt

Last Saturday Andrea Pollan, owner of the Curator’s Office  on 14th Street NW in DC hosted a wonderful show titled Mixology I, featured an amazing number or works on paper.  The proceeds benefited Doctors without Borders.  Andrea was able to raise a significant amount to support this worthy endeavor.

I really enjoyed the show and was amazed at the variety of work on display.  Matt Sesow and Leslie Holt, two artists whose work I enjoy were in the show.

A friend of mine purchased a painting by Matt  and a Leslie Holt painting titled Hello David.  What I love about Leslie’s painting is that Ms. Kitty is holding a rubber ducky.  Not sure if this means she wants to dive in and bathe with poor Mr. Marat or simply if Leslie found the humor in juxtaposing the sweet Ms. Kitty at the scene of Marat’s assassination.

 

In case you were wondering, the original was painted by Jacques Louis David and is titled The Death of Marat.  Mr. Marat was one of the architects of the French Revolution.  He has a physical disability which was relieved only by soaking in a tub and he was known for having meetings while ensconced in tub.  Marat was known for making lists of whom to arrest and send to the guillotine for execution.  He was assassinated while soaking in his tub and you can see a list he was making in his hand. His murderer was a peasant girl named Charlotte Corday, she stabbed Marat with a knife while he was in the bath, in David’s painting Marat is dying.

Hello Starry Night by Leslie Holt

Hello Starry Night by Leslie Holt

Leslie Holt attended but I just missed her.  It made me a sad panda since I am a huge fan of her work.  Leslie dropped off a commission for me, say hello to Hello Starry Night.  Isn’t it adorable?

Hillary by Matt Sesow

Hillary by Matt Sesow

Although I prefer representational work for the most part, but something about this painting really attracted me.  So I bought it along with these two little works by Matt as well.

Matt had a fairly traumatic childhood and it’s shaped his work. I believe he is considered an ‘outsider’ artist because he’s had no formal art training.  I showed a friend of mine this painting (she’s a rabid republican BTW so it’s not because she’s pro-Hillary) she said she though he was disturbed or had some issues.  That made me smile because it confirmed that it’s a painting which evokes a reaction and I think it is a powerful painting.  As for the disturbed part he seems very well adjusted just working through issues like most of us are.

Untitled by Matt Sesow

This is one of the tiny paintings I also bought from Matt at Artoramtic. I don’t think it had a title, this picture is just a tad smaller than the actual painting.  The colors are also a little brighter in real life.

Andy Moon Wilson, also had several works on display for the show.  Andy is known for his small drawings on the back of business cards.   I really drooled over one and considered purchasing one of his drawings for a bit, but decided to wait since I am going on vacation next month and should be a fiscally conservative.  I have several of his small business card works and they are hysterical but these were larger (the biggest one was gorgeous!) and the mid-sized ones were on color fields so the drawing really popped out.

Non Sequiter– there was an interesting article on art collecting on the cheap in the Express today (July 18th). They had a picture of this amazing black baroque frame that had really depth and would make the right painting come alive

