Boston Report

 

Beach at Sunrise, Hingham MA

Beach at Sunrise, Hingham MA

I lived in Boston as a child, and had two flying visits there as an adult.  This trip allowed more time and I have to say that I would live there in a New York minute.  I stayed with two friends who live in Hingham MA and down the road from me in Virginia as well. 
Hingham is about 17 miles from Boston and is easily accessible by road, rail or ferry.  I loved the idea that they could work in the city but that the beach was only a 3-5 minute drive away. 
Each morning they take their dog to the beach and one walks while the other jogs.  Then, once everyone is nicely refreshed, they head to starbucks for coffee.  All this occurs before 6:30 in the morning.
Hingham MA beach
Beach at Hingham MA

Although I am not a subrurbanite by preference, I loved the life they crafted and would love to live in Hingham area.

The main reason for the trip was to relax and attempt plein aire painting (not so successful) and to attend a painting workshop given by Robert Liberace at the North River Art Society in Marshfield MA.  Rob taught a three-day class at the North River Art Society which was attended (for the most part) by professional artists who lived in the area.

 

Drive

Drive

The artists who belong to the North River Art Society and attended this workshop were the friendliest and warmest group of people I’ve had the pleasure of meeting!  They provided a pot luck lunch each day and closed the class with a party on Friday evening at one of the student’s home in Marshfield, MA. They were warm and welcoming and it was amazing seeing their artwork (many of the student’ s work was awaiting hanging for a society show later this month. 

Boston MFA Sargant Fans

Boston MFA Sargant Fans

 

I went plein aire painting on Sunday at Scituate, MA with my friends.  We hit the Museum of Fine Art in Boston on Monday and the Elizabeth Stewart Gardner Museum on Tuesday.  Both museums had beautiful works by Zorn, Sargent, Beaux, Paxton and others.  The murals by Sargent at the Boston MFA were amazing.  The Gardner had an wide  range of works and architectural elements on display. 

 

Daughters of Edward Darley Boit by John Singer Sargent, 1883, Museum of Fine Art Boston

Daughters of Edward Darley Boit

 

 

 

I loved the Gardner but was confused a bit while there.    The museum was built as a private residence there is art EVERYWHERE and it’s difficult to find works.  It’s kind of like visiting a favorite auntie whose home is stuffed with fun things to look at and explore. 

The works at the Gardner were amazing it’s just that you overlooked many treasures simply because you couldn’t see them.  When you walk in the main  entrance your attention is immediately arrested by Sargent’s El Jaleo, which was wonderful.  I spent most of my time in Blue Room and the Yellow Room but roamed throughout other rooms as well.

Detail of the Daughters of Edward Darley Boit

Detail of the Daughters of Edward Darley Boit

 

I still need to move the pictures over to my computer, once they are all downloaded I will write a new post and include the pictures from the workshop.

I loved this Sargent painting titled, the Daughters of Edward Darley Boit.  Sargent painting it in 1882.  Gazing at the children I wondered how much of each child’s personality was reflected in this painting. Here are some close ups of the children, sadly, could not seem to get a good photo of the child in the foreground.

 
Detail of Daughters of Edward Darley Boit

Detail of Daughters of Edward Darley Boit

 
 
 
 
 
 
5 responses to “Boston Report

  1. More importantly, what did you bring me from Boston?

  2. Mongoose,
    Always a pleasure ready your blog. Sounds like a good time was had by all. When I was at the Boston Fine Arts Museum they had the vase that was in the Sargent painting. I found that very interesting to see the actual vase that is in the painting.
    Terry

  3. Hi Terry, actually they had both of them there. I looked pretty closely and the one on the left looks like it had been damaged and been repaired at the top.

    I tortured my friends and made them post near the vase in a similar post to the two oldest Boit girls, if you can’t torture your friends….

    I think you would have really enjoyed the workshop; the model’s were really amazing.
    Cindy

  4. I can’t wait for class to start up again. I wish there weren’t any down weeks inbetween classes. I can’t get enough. Almost an addiction! But a good one IMHO. Most of my friends don’t understand my fascination with art and the human figure.
    I am sure I would have loved the workshop. I have improved 200% since starting classes with Rob. See U soon.

  5. Hi Terry,
    I know. I keep wondering if Marjorie runs the life drawing on Thursdays at the Madison during the term breaks….

Leave a Reply

