Second Plein Aire Attempt

Clouds

Cloud inspiration

It was another lovely day. On the ride home there were these huge fluffy clouds (alto cumulus?) that looked like cotton candy. I decided I’d try and paint them.

These are the type of clouds you watched build all day in New Mexico during the summer. The kind of clouds that serve as oracles and reveal fantastical shapes and stories.

I love these kind of clouds (in spite of Joni Mitchell!).

Plein Air 18 September 2008

Plein Air 18 September 2008

So when I arrived at home I decided to paint them. Funny thing was they’ all drifted off and morphed into these slightly fluffy loose clouds. So I decided to paint them anyway.

I painted this on a 4×4″ toned gesso board. For some reason the cannon won’t take a good picture of this so I apologize in advance.

Although I was close to home it’s a totally valid plein aire since the mosquitos chewed on me nonstop.

The clouds rolled past and I did the best I could. There are magnolia trees to the right and I did what I could with them. I think it’s an improvement on the first plein aire and I think I nailed the roofline and the dormer. I wanted to paint a gorgeous loose cloud and I think I did ok.

Cloud Close Up

Cloud Close Up

Here is a close up of the clouds. I really liked how they turned out, but the colors kept changing.

I will try to retake these pictures under natural light once the paint dries a bit.

I also learned why some folks love and some hate winsor newton’s cremmitz

Totally off topic

Linked below is a youtube of Pavarotti and Bono singing Ave Maria (live) it’s actually wonderful.

While you’re at it check these next two out, talk about a great juxtaposition!

And finally, one of my favorite opera songs, (after Sull’Aria)

2 responses to “Second Plein Aire Attempt

  1. wonderful videos. I haven’t enjoyed music this much in a long time. Thank you.
    Sue

  2. Hi Sue,
    Thank you for the kind comments. I am glad you enjoyed Pavarotti performing. I think you really get a sense of how much he loves and enjoys singing when watching him sing with Bono.

Leave a Reply

