Language-Food for Thought on Autism

I came across this video earlier this week.  I found it very thought provoking because it addresses the issue of language, communication, environment and perception.

The video opens with the view of a woman who is humming and doing very repetitive actions.  When I first saw it I wasn’t certain if the noises she was making were an accompaniment to her tune or if both were independent.  As I viewed it I was disturbed I found the repetitive actions as confusing as her haunting singing.  I am so glad that I decided to continue watching,

Please take a moment to watch this.

4 responses to “Language-Food for Thought on Autism

  1. Cindy, Thanks for helping to spread the word about this groundbreaking video. There was also an article in Wired magazine about Amanda here:
    http://www.wired.com/medtech/health/magazine/16-03/ff_autism
    She’s got guts, and I think her posts will help re-shape the landscape for people with autism.
    B.

  2. I hope so Belinda!

    I think Amanda is pretty amazing.

  3. Thanks for sharing this. Outstanding and yes … thought provoking. I find it most compelling that she so concisely and clearly communicated her point in a way that is engaging and kind to the viewer. It’s as though she simplified it for us so that we can grasp this within our own limited understanding.

  4. Hi Tricia,
    It was great to see you the other evening!

    Thank you for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

