Face Off Results (Pt 2)

Ada

Ada

The Portrait Society of America held a “Face Off competition” during their Art of the Portrait 2009 conference held at the Hyatt in Reston Virginia.  Think 15 artists and 5 models and about 100-200 fellow artists, collectors and students in one large room; if you throw in lights, chairs and organized (but deliciously fun) chaos you have an accurate idea of what being there was like.

Scott Burdick

Scott Burdick

Each model posed for three artists and each section held all of the artists working materials (taborets, palettes, easels and lights) as well as chairs about six-seven feet behind for attendees to watch the artists at work.  The final results can be viewed at the <a title=”Results of the 2009 Face Off Event”

I am linking the pictures I took of the artists at work.  Besides those I’ve already linked of Liberace, Carducci and Ryder; my most favorite ones were the three works by the artists lucky enough to paint Ada.

Paul Newton

Paul Newton

She’s a beautiful model that we occasionally are lucky enough to paint in class.  She has pale translucent skin, dark hair and  very fine delicate features.  She’s also difficult to paint because (at least for me) I tend to lapse into painting what I think I see instead of what is actually there.  Not sure if this makes sense to you…sadly it does to me.

I apologize for the poor quality of the Paul Newton picture, but even though it is fuzzy I think you get the sense of how he was working on the painting;  I think he nailed it.

Scott Burdick

Scott Burdick

Chris Saper

Chris Saper

Paul Newton

Paul Newton

Other pictures of the artists at work.

The Model

Vasudeo Kamath

Vasudeo Kamath

Rich Nelson

Rich Nelson

Thomas Nash

Thomas Nash

The rest of the paintings for the Face Off competition can be found at this link.

Leave a Reply

