Friday Night (15 May)

Oil Sketch

Oil Sketch

Just returned from a quick trip to San Antonio Texas and barely made it to class.

Tonight we had a new model for a three-week pose.  We worked on our inital sketch (using burnt umber). I think for one brief moment I had it but then I kept re-drawing her hip.  Grrr.

The sketch looks off because her shoulders and hips are almot in parallel instead of at diametrically opposed angles like they would normally be. There were also quite a few blankets under her which I didn’t paint it so her right side looks very unfinished.

I love how te shadows look on her upper back but the edge of her left hip is off. It looked correct in person but as soon as I photograped it I could see it.

Leave a Reply

