Final Friday Evening Pose

Final Class June 2009

Final Class June 2009

For the final evening of the class, I decided to leave well enough alone on my previous painting and to try something different.  I wanted to try Seth Haverkamp’s technique for painting.  As stated in my last entry, Seth started with an very minimal drawing and taught us to render the colors in the shapes and forms we see.

I moved from the rear of the room to closer to the door and the model’s front.  There was some great foreshortening; I chose to work on her abdomen, legs and hips.

I liked how this came out in spite of the fact that I only had a few hours.  It forced me to focus on the colors and shapes and not get so lost in the details.

7 responses to “Final Friday Evening Pose

  1. severnyproductions

    And it worked. thats a good painting

  2. Thank you!

  3. I check your blog from time to time –
    I would certianly enjoy the July 6 day of demos and a chance to buy one of those or one of the ones already done. You certainly are making good strikes in your work! You are so fortunate to be studying with Rob as he is certainly the kindest, nicest person on top of being a magnificent painter and teacher – Kate F. sent me his new video as a present and it is 2nd only to “being there.”

    Keep up the good work!

    • Hi Suzanne,
      If you’re in the area – please consider attending!
      I agree that Rob is phenomenal. Margret Cerutti from the Art League had a significant role in organizing this fundraiser as well.

  4. Hello!

    So it’s been a month – but I haven’t forgotten your lovely little painting. If the offer still stands I would love to add it to my collection, I can hang it next to Rob’s. 🙂

    I was glad to read the fundraiser went so well, sorry I skipped town and had to miss it.

    I hope class is going well. I still haven’t found any modeling jobs here in the Chicago area, which makes me sad – but hopefully I’ll be able to come back and visit you guys this winter after the kiddo is born.

    All the best,
    Dee

  5. Pingback: Classes with Artist Seth Heverkamp « Skating at the Edge of Infinity

Leave a Reply

