Take Me Out to the Ballgame!

PNC Park Dugout, Pgh PA

PNC Park Dugout, Pgh PA

This weekend I traveled to Pittsburgh PA with a friend who attended Netroots Nation.  The events I was able to attend as a guest were wonderful and a once in a lifetime treat.  One of the organizations sponsored a Night at PNC Park where the guests were allowed to walk on the field and practice batting or throwing a ball around.  Since I grew up attending the occasional Pirates game and loved Roberto Clemente, Manny Sanguillen, Al ‘Scoop’ Oliver, and even Willie Stargell ( who ran like a tank), I was in hog heaven. I felt too shy to bat in front of the crowds watching so we snagged a bat and played about 25 feet away from first base.  I actually hit one ball high up into the bleachers! Yeah.  But I  had to run back to home plate to get another ball, boo.

Oh course the most fun was sending a picture of myself in the dugout to my sister and reading HER reaction, it was unprintable.  Life is good.

I did obscure my face slightly here, but it was only to give myself a dashing ‘stache and glasses.

2 responses to “Take Me Out to the Ballgame!

  1. I love what you’ve done to your beard!

    It wasn’t unprintable… just some random letters

    /jealous

  2. I have been trying to grow a mustache and beard as luxuriant as yours of sister of mine-but no such luck 😉

Leave a Reply

