Figure in Action

Tomorrow is the first session of a three-day workshop with artist Robert Liberace at the Alexandria Art League in Virginia.  I’m really looking forward to it.  The focus is on drawing, which I’ve had a terrible time with this last term.  I have no reason why, I just seemed unable to settle and concentrate.

There have been a lot of things percolating at the office, but I had problems even in the beginning of this term.  I tried to shake some loose with a painting session with artist Seth Heverkamp.  Seth is always good at pushing his students way past their comfort zone with color.  I’ve tried hitting the  Outwin Boochever Portrait Competition Exhibition at the National Portrait Gallery  and even the solace of visiting some beloved Vermeers and Rembrandts in DC and New York.  Nada. Zippo.

So how do you get your inspiration or your mojo back?  I think the only thing to be done at times like these is to keep on trying.  Which, kind of sucks for an answer but it always seems to work.

Keep your fingers crossed for me, that I do well this weekend.  I also will ask for Rob’s permission to post more pictures from his show tomorrow.

Also, if you haven’t seen this month’s American Art Collector or the American Artist Plein Air publication go and hunt them down.  Both feature articles about Rob.  The American Art Collector (the one with the flower on the front cover vice Brad Kunkle’s beautiful painting) has an article which feature’s Rob’s show at the Arcadia Gallery.  It also has a photo of one of Rob’s paintings in the John Pence Gallery’s show on the back cover.

The article in the American Artist  Plein Air magazine,  features Rob and Lina’s two-week trip to Ireland last year.  Amazing stuff!  One day I shall travel on one of these trips!


Leave a Reply

