What I’ve Been up to…Lately

I have a fun part-time obsession now-it’s knitting.  Yes you read that right.  I grew up crocheting and made a huge afghan during snowzilla in January.

When I am visiting old town (Alexandria VA)  I’d always walk by a really neat yarn shop and ladies (and some guys every now and again) would be sitting inside shop the shop knitting and crocheting away.

So I decided that this was the year I learned to knit.  So far I’ve knitted a hat/slouchy beret and two kinda cute baby sweaters for friends.  But my real obsession and the only reason I wanted to learn to knit at all was so I could learn to knit lace.  To friends I’ve mentioned that to (at least the ones who didn’t ask what the hell was wrong with me since that’s an ‘old lady’ thing”) look at me and ask why not take up tatting.  The answer to that is simple.  I’d like to keep my eyesight thank you very much.

Ok, so here is the only lace I’ve knitted so far.  I’m participating in a group knit along and we’re knitting samplers that will eventually be a stole.  Since I am new to knitting this thing took forever even though its’ only 46 stitches wide and 68 rows tall.  I’ve had to rip it out about 4-5 times and rip out pattern rows numerous times.

It’s still not quite right, but I have to say that it’s magical pinning this and seeing some of the pattern revealed.

Lace Swatch One

Lace Swatch One

I hesitated posting this here, but frankly I am really enjoying this so what the hell.

2 responses to “What I’ve Been up to…Lately

  1. Wahhoo! LACE! and nice lace at that!
    I can’t wait to watch it unfold (and hope that you’ll share it all with us on Seasons of Lace too!

    • Hi Helen,
      Yes I will post more here -most of it so far has mistakes since it’s my first lace. I figure it’s ok as long as I am learning along the way.

Leave a Reply

